The Event

Inaugurated in 2017, the bi-annual Nations Trophy is only open to Swan One Design classes: ClubSwan 50, Swan 45, ClubSwan 42 and the newborn ClubSwan 36.

It is committed to revitalizing the concept of competition between nations, maintaining the spirit of gentlemanly competition between countries engendered by the original event.

The appeal of racing identical boats is easy to understand. Removing the design element and pitting crews against each other is the fairest form of sailing competition. It is this principle that has been at the heart of many of the world’s most successful one-design classes. Another secret to a successful one-design lies in creating a yacht that has the potential for a double life: the design needs to be as competitive in handicap tracing as it is popular in its own fleet racing. The Swan One-Design philosophy takes this concept further: the boats are truly dual-purpose and the racing calendar is rich. The regattas are always attractive social events hosted by prestigious yacht clubs, the home to both the sailors and the competition organisers and, as such, the cornerstone of the sport, and one of the cornerstones of the philosophy.

2019 Event

The Nations Trophy 2019, 08th – 12th October: The 2019 edition of The Nations Trophy, organized in conjunction with the Real Club Nautico de Palma, crowns ClubSwan 50s and Swan 45 World Champions and ClubSwan42 European Champions, together with ClubSwan 36 debut event winner.

Please find here all the information on the event and here the Overall results of the event


2019 winners


2019 edition

2017 Event

The 2017 Nations Trophy was organized by the Real Club Náutico de Palma (RCNP), in collaboration with Nautor’s Swan and with the institutional support of the Real Federación Española de Vela (RFEV).


Participating nations

Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Russia


2017 winners